← Back to Awards

  • Awards
  • DATE :
  • REGION :
    United States

Call for Nominations: The 2018 Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award

Apply here

Deadline: 10th May 2018


Human Rights First is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award. Those involved in human rights throughout the world are encouraged to nominate individuals or organizations that have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to international human rights advocacy in areas such as the defense of civil society, protection of refugees, combatting of antisemitism and other forms of extremism, promotion of religious freedom, defense of the rights of LGBT persons, and advancement of accountability for human rights abuseamong others. The winner will be selected by a distinguished jury and will receive a trip to the United States to engage in advocacy and a $25,000 prize. This year marks the 29th anniversary of the award.


Some criteria to consider and include when nominating an individual or organization:

  • The nominee’s work is unique or particularly distinctive;
  • The nominee’s work has been effective in advancing human rights in a country other than the United States;
  • The nominee faces risk or insecurity as a result of their work; and
  • The nominee would benefit significantly from receiving the Baldwin Award, in the form of enhanced protection, or in any other way.


Criteria upon which the Baldwin Medal is awarded include distinctiveness and effectiveness of the nominee’s human rights advocacy and the degree to which the nominee faces risk as a result of their work. The Awardee receives a trip to the United States to engage in advocacy and US$25,000.

For more information click here

Application Process