← Back to Awards

  • Awards
  • DATE :
  • REGION :

The Moth International Short Story Prize 2018

Apply HERE

Deadline: June 30, 2018.


The Moth Short Story Prize is an important date on the literary calendar. Every year, a single judge is asked to choose three winning stories, to feature in the autumn issue of The Moth.

Previous judges include John Boyne, Martina Evans, Donal Ryan, Belinda McKeon and Mike McCormack.
Previous winners include Marc Phillips, Nikki McWatters and June Caldwell.

This year’s judge is Kevin Barry. Barry won The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Prize in 2012 and has published two collections of short stories. His debut novel City of Bohane won the Author’s Club First Novel Prize, The European Prize for Literature and the IMPAC Prize. His latest novel Beatlebone won the Goldsmiths Prize.


  • 1st prize €3,000
  • 2nd prize week-long writing retreat at Circle of Misse in France plus €250 travel stipend
  • 3rd prize €1,000


  • The Prize is open to anyone (over 18), as long as the work is original and previously unpublished.
  • There is a word limit of 5,000.
  • The entry fee is €12 per story.

You can enter online or send your story along with a cheque or postal order made payable to ‘The Moth Magazine Ltd.’ with an entry form or a cover letter with your name and contact details and the title of your story (or stories) attached to: The Moth, Ardan Grange, Milltown, Belturbet, Co. Cavan, Ireland H14 K768.

Please remember to read the rules of the competition before you enter.


Application Process